Easy Fried Rice

What to do with all that left over rice?  Make fried rice!  How about Chinese take out at home?

I had a bunch of left over rice from the other night and, as I started to become hungry for lunch, I looked at it for awhile. Then it came to me: fried rice.  This recipe is easy, flexible, fun, and not to mention tasty!  I do however apologize about the photos. I only had my phone at the time and these pictures do not do the recipe justice!  Trust me.

I only had 1 1/2 cups of left over rice to work with so these made two big servings, but it you have more don’t hesitate to double the recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1-½ cups of cooked rice (any kind works!)
  • 4 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 2 tablespoons sesame sauce (optional)
  • ½ cup of cooked corn
  • ½ cup of cooked peas
  • ½ cup of cooked carrots
  • ¼ cup of chopped onions
  • 2 eggs

If you have bags of frozen vegetables that is perfectly okay too.  I used a bag of frozen peas and a frozen bag of corn, so I cooked them both in the microwave.  I also put the carrots and the onions in the microwave so they would have cooked a little before I added them to the fried rice.  As I said earlier, this recipe is flexible so, if you want to use other vegetables, go ahead!

Directions:

  1. Cook all vegetables.
  2. Turn the stove on to high and spray the pan with non-stick cooking spray.  (Butter or oil will also work).
  3. Crack the eggs into a bowl and whisk as if you were to make scrambled eggs.
  4. Put the eggs in the pan and scramble!
  5. Add vegetables, rice, soy sauce, and sesame sauce to the pan.
  6. Stir until everything is well incorporated and the rice is heated.

Eat and Enjoy!!!

— Lizzie

Leave a Reply

