Pillow Cookies


Hello!

I apologize for not posting in so long, but as you know school gets stressful. Especially since Halie and I have been engrossed in the college process. One Saturday in October, however, I did find the time to bake. One of my old teachers, Mr. Sykes, had just bought a kitchen aid mixer. Unfortunately, I do not have one at home. Mr. Sykes is aware of my food blog and asked me if I would want to make something for the blog using the mixer. I was ecstatic! I knew I had to make pillow cookies! Pillow cookies are chocolate chip cookies with brownie’s inside them. I used the cookie recipe from Bakerella.com (www.bakerella.com/pillow-cookies/) and the brownie recipe was Mr. Sykes contribution.

Recipe for the Brownies:

• 2 cups white sugar

• 1 cup butter

• 1/2 cup cocoa powder

• 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

• 4 eggs

• 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

• 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

• 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

1. Mix the sugar, butter, and eggs. Then separately mix the cocoa powder and vanilla extract to make a paste. Add the paste to the mixture. In another bowl swift the flour, baking power, and salt. Then slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ones while mixing them together.

2. Grease a 9 x 13 inch pan and bake at 350 degrees for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean. 3. Once the brownies have cooled cut them into about ½ inch squares or just little squares you don’t have to be exact!

Recipe for the Cookies:

• 1 cup butter, room temperature

• 1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar

• 2 large eggs, plus 1 egg yolk

• 1 tablespoon vanilla

• 2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

• 2 teaspoons baking powder

• 1/2 teaspoon salt

• 1/2 teaspoon baking soda

• 12 oz. bag miniature semi-sweet chocolate chips

Our Alterations: In an effort to be healthy…. Mr. Sykes suggested that we use whole-wheat flower. The cookies tasted the same to me! We also didn’t have small chocolate chips so; I chopped the normal size ones. I do recommend buying the small ones though. If I hadn’t chopped them I think it would have been a little too much. Remember there is a brownie inside these cookies!

Directions:

1. Beat butter until creamy and then add brown sugar. Beat until smooth.

2. Add eggs, yolk, and vanilla, beat until smooth.

3. Separately combine flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in another bowl and stir together.

4. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ones and mix.

5. Lastly, stir in the collocate chips.

Mr. Sykes's CookieConstruction of the Pillow Cookie: Mr. Sykes and I had different ways of making the cookies at first. He just tried to roll it together. I’m actually not sure what he did but it was a little messy. I recommend my way. First wet your hands a little. It helps with the dough. Then place a piece of flattened dough in your hand (enough so that your palm is covered). Then place the brownie on top. Cup your hands to fold the dough around the brownie. Once you have finished flip the cookie dough upside down and put it on the baking sheet. Mr. Sykes and I realized how huge these cookies were going to be so I came up with another idea. We placed them into a muffin tin to make Pillow Cookie Cups. Below you can see the pictures of both the cookies and cookie cups. I ended up giving out the cookie cups in a dorm that night, and I got a lot of good responses! I hope you enjoy our community certainly did!


-Lizzie

One thought on “Pillow Cookies

  1. Laurie Heaney

    You are brilliant Lizzie!! I can’t wait to make the pillow cookies!!!!! Keep up the amazing blogs!! You are a rock star.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

