Red Velvet Cheesecake Cake Pops

After all the buzz about cake pops I figured I should try to make them myself, and after searching for recipes I think Red Velvet Cheesecake Cake Pops proved to be a winner.  These cake pops are extremely rich.  I ended up using the whole red velvet cake while the recipe only calls for half so, I made both red velvet cake pops and red velvet cheesecake cake pops.

Ingredients

  • 1 box of red velvet cake mix (1/4-1/2 cup vegetable oil if using box mix)
  • 1 cup of store bought cream cheese frosting
  • 7-inch cheesecake
  • 24 ounces of white chocolate

Feel free to use my earlier post on red velvet cake and cream cheese frosting to substitute into the recipe.

You will also need about 30 lollipop sticks.  I just used barbeque skewers that I cut in half.

Directions

  1. Bake the red velvet cake as instructed but make sure to separate into two pans.
  2. Once the cakes are done cool completely.
  3. Put one layer of the cake in a bowl with ½ cup of the frosting.
  4. Mix until fully combined.
  5. Make mixture into ½ inch balls and place on a baking sheet.
  6. Repeat with the other layer of cake.
  7. Place these baking sheets into the refrigerator for 30 minutes.
  8. Place the cheesecake in a bowl and mash up until its consistency is smooth.
  9. Take the cake balls out of the refrigerator and cover with a layer of the cheesecake.
  10. Place the balls back into the refrigerator for 30 minutes.
  11. Melt the white chocolate using a double boiler
  12. Put a stick in each cake pop and then use the stick to help cover the cake ball in white chocolate.
  13. Let chocolate outside harden

These cake pops are time-consuming but they are well worth it!  I ended up only having enough cheesecake to cover half of my cake pops.  The other half became just regular red velvet cake pops.  After I had one of these I knew I couldn’t keep them all for my family and myself, so I went out and delivered handfuls to three of my friends and their families.  Since these are so decadent they are perfect to share!

Enjoy!
— Lizzie

One thought on “Red Velvet Cheesecake Cake Pops

Leave a Reply

