Healthy Dark Chocolate Brownies (No, really. I’m serious.)

I came across this recipe on Pinterest (one of my newest addictions) and was immediately skeptical. The brownies in the photo looked absolutely delicious, but the vegan recipe (made without butter, oil, or eggs) called for black beans as it’s replacement ingredient. What? This wasn’t possible. You could not make a brownie with a can of black beans and have it taste good.

So I decided to test my theory. As good as the brownies might look, I figured they would taste disgusting. The recipe makes a lot of batter, so I end up spreading it out over two smaller pans and baking thinner brownies, which was fine.

And, here’s the crazy part. They tasted good. Not even decent, as in, “meh, okay, I guess I’ll eat them cause they’re there.” They were yummy and totally moist and delicious! They’re a bit more cake-like than the average brownie, and lighter, but that’s totally fine with me because they taste awesome and are way better for you than regular brownies. I totally recommend trying this recipe out! Believe me, it works.

Dark Chocolate Brownies (adapted from Farmgirl Gourmet)

Ingredients

  • 1 15 oz can black beans, rinsed and filled with new water
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour or all purpose
  • 2 1/4 cups raw sugar
  • 1 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder
  • 4 tsp instant coffee powder
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup nuts or chocolate chips, optional

Directions

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Drain a can of black beans and rinse thoroughly until the water runs clear.  Return the black beans back to the can and fill with water.  Purée the beans and water.  Set aside.
  3. In a large bowl, mix flour, sugar, cocoa powder, coffee power, salt and baking powder.  Add the black bean puree, vanilla and water to the dry ingredients and stir just until incorporated.  Don’t over mix.
  4. Pour batter into a greased 9×13 pan.  Bake for 25-30 minutes, rotating the pan around halfway through. They should be almost firm in the center.
  5. Let brownies cool completely then cut into 24 squares.

Still don’t believe me? Try them. I dare you.

— Halie

10 thoughts on “Healthy Dark Chocolate Brownies (No, really. I’m serious.)

    1. Textbooks and Tea Cakes Post author

      I think this recipe traditionally uses black beans, as the flavor is better-suited to the brownies. But kidney beans is an interesting idea, and I can see it working. If you give it a try, let me know how it goes! Thanks for stopping by!

      Halie

      Reply
  1. tickles my tastebuds

    i’ve been wanting to make black bean brownies for ages, literally feels like forever. I just cant get my hands on any black beans 😦 but when i do, im using your recipe, looks decadent and moist

    Reply

Leave a Reply

